Resin recommendation

Discuss 3d printing resins
Storen
Novice
Resin recommendation

Postby Storen » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:36 pm

I went over most of the posts here and I am amazed how many resins and combinations are available for this printer. I am new to 3D printing and frankly all this great information is a bit overwhelming :D

I plan to buy my firs printer soon and I would like to get some resin with it. Could someone recommend a resin or a blend to start with?
I’ll be printing rings with very intricate details so the resolution would be very important - 10-20 microns on Z would be ideal. A clean burnout is also very important. The cost of the resin not so much as I don’t intend to print often or in large volumes.
Archerm
Solus Master

Re: Resin recommendation

Postby Archerm » Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:49 pm

For now I would recommend the B9 Emerald for what you are looking for. It works well for rings, other detailed jewelry and casting. Resins change frequently and hopefully there will be another option in the future.
robin
Solus Expert

Postby robin » Tue Dec 20, 2016 9:20 pm

For non-castable resins that have a lot of detail, I'd recommend the SolusProto resin.

For castable resins, I've used the B9 Yellow and MakerJuice's WaxCast. Each has it's own pros and cons but I find myself using both depending on the model. For instance, I printed a 20mm "tree of life" pendant flat on the build area and when I tried to remove it using the MJ WaxCast, it wouldn't come off in one piece and was a total mess. I ended up using the B9 Yellow which bends more and all was good. Another print was for a thick men's ring that would fail using the Yellow, I switched to the MJ WaxCast and it printed without any issues.

Here's some observations of those two resins:
- B9 Yellow bends more and is harder to break than MJWC
- MJWC is more forgiving and is less likely to have failed prints as its not sticky